Award Distribution programme for the Equine owner and handlers


May 2017

Animal Nepal organized Best Equine owner Award- 2073 and Best Equine handler Award-2073 distribution programme on 11th and 17th May 2017 respectively.

Mumtaj Kasgar, won the title of Best Equine owner Award from Santaneshwor Brick kiln Lalitpur. Similarly 2nd prize winner: Muktaj Kasgar from Shree Bajra Barahi (RM) Brick Kiln and 3rd prize winner Rayman Kasgar from Shree no 1 Brick kiln. They received food for their equines, a tub and bucket to feed them from and nominal cash prize. 37 equine owners participated enthusiastically in the programme. Animal Nepal really hopes that this works as a small incentive for all equine owners to treat their working animals even better.

Similarly, in our equine handler programme; Manoj Sonkhar won the title of Best Equine handler Award 2073. Esrad Kasgar and Prakash Poudel won 2nd and 3rd prize respectively. 27 young equine handlers attended the programme. They are extremely hard- working people who work earnestly at their job with their only friends, the hard-working equines! After the prize distribution, Animal Nepal showed them a movie “Tahaana” about a relationship between a boy and his mule. A little show of appreciation to these handlers at the end of the season!! The participants watched it with great interest.

According to AN Executive Director Uttam Kafle, “This programme is to motivate all the participants to treat their hard working equines even better and more importantly to spread the message of welfare for these animals in such a harsh environment”. Equine Outreach Programme Coordinator Dr. Atish Kumar Yadav also explained the winning criteria to all participants and encouraged them to continue with their good work.

President Pramada Shah, Programme Manager Kapil Kafle, Advocacy Office Urvashi Rana, Equine Outreach Programme Coordinator Dr.Atish Kumar Yadav and the rest of the team distributed the cash prizes and certificate to them.

Animal Nepal team member Communication Officer Nirmal Sharma,Vet Sajana Thapa, Para vets Tara Budhathoki, Santosh Pokhrel and Mana Nepali, caretaker Santa Bahadur Shrestha were all present in the programme.

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: